Book Quotes and an Update on My Reading

I am now reading Little Women by Louisa May Alcott — lent to me by one of my closest friends Jany, whom I terribly miss — and currently on Chapter 13. I’m loving every bit of it so far, but it’s probably gonna take me a very long time to finish it (for I am such a slow reader, and the book requires frequent use of the dictionary), so I figured I’d share some of my favorite book quotes for now.

The first three are from The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky, a book I read only because Emma Watson’s in the movie version.

“Do you always think this much, Charlie?”

“Is that bad?” I just wanted someone to tell me the truth.

“Not necessarily. It’s just that sometimes people use thought to not participate in life.”

“Is that bad?”

“Yes.”

***

It’s like he would take a photograph of Sam, and the photograph would be beautiful. And he would think that the reason the photograph was beautiful was because of how he took it. If I took it, I would know that the only reason it’s beautiful is because of Sam.

***

It’s just hard to see a friend hurt this much. Especially when you can’t do anything except “be there.”

This quote is from Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen, a book I wasn’t expecting to like but then loved a whole lot!

His grandfather said that things happened the way they were supposed to, and it was no use trying to predict what was going to come next.

The following are from On Love by Alain de Botton, an analysis on love (of course) that has, very unexpectedly, made me feel very lonely in the end.

As Proust once said, classically beautiful women should be left to men without imagination.

***

Desperate needs bring about a hallucination of their solution: thirst hallucinates water, the need for love hallucinates a prince or princess.

***

There is something appalling in the idea that a person for whom you would sacrifice anything today might in a few months cause you to cross a road or a bookshop to avoid.

These two are from The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd, and I think this book is perfectly written.


“Regrets don’t help anything, you know that.”

– August Boatwright

***

You just don’t interrupt somebody’s mourning with your own problems.

This last quote is from The Warlock by Michael Scott, book five of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, which I am dying to see on the big screen!

“But what you must remember is that knowledge itself is never dangerous,” Tsagaglalal insisted. “It is how that knowledge is used that is dangerous.”

2 comments

Leave a Reply

