Favorite Books

I’ve been a big fan of Goodreads ever since I’ve created an account in September 2011. I love discovering new book titles and recording the books I’ve read. I also have a my-favorite-books shelf, and I checked it now and saw that I’ve already put thirty books in it. And because I’m itching to write about something and because I still can’t write about Little Women (I’m only in Chapter 20), I’m going to share with you some of the books from my my-favorite-books shelf instead.

Harry Potter one to six. I think this is what started my love for fantasy books. I was eleven when I first read book one, and I remember that before Harry Potter, my favorite books were non-fantasy; I loved reading Nancy Drew: Notebooks, Full House, and Mary-Kate and Ashley books, such as The New Adventures of Mary-Kate and Ashley and Two of a Kind. My genre choice suddenly changed after reading HP 1. You may be wondering why I didn’t include HP 7. Well, that’s because I haven’t read it yet. I’m afraid to because I still don’t want the series to end. Ha-ha! (I’m weird!) I’m planning to this year, but not before I read books one to six again!

The Hunger Games one to three. When I first read book one, I had no idea what it was about. I was at work and finished with all the stuff I had to do and bored ’cause there was nothing left to do, so I’ve decided to read it. I’ve only read a few chapters when I knew I’d be a big fan. I read books two and three immediately after finishing the first one. The series is really good (but the last installment a bit depressing), and I’m so excited for the movie version of Catching Fire to come out!

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel one to six. I initially thought this was related to Harry Potter (after all, “Nicholas Flamel is the only known maker of the sorcerer’s stone”) and was disappointed at first to find out it was not. But as the book progressed, I found it exciting, and the books got better and better. And they’re very unpredictable too! Usually, my favorite book of a series is the first one, but with this one, my favorite is the last, because the last book was just epic! I really wish they’d make this series into movies soon. I’ve already got a dream cast in my head.

And there you have the first fifteen books from my my-favorite-books shelf! I’ll probably write about the other fifteen in another post, if I still haven’t finished Little Women. (Dang that book’s long.)

Leave a Reply

