Double Fudge by Judy Blume

fudge

I had to take a quick break from reading Little Women to give priority to Double Fudge by Judy Blume as well as other books. I have to read those books now because they have a deadline. By April 13, they will be sent to a nice new home, and right now there are five books, Double Fudge included, waiting patiently to be delivered, but there may be more. Two will be rereads, so I feel it won’t really matter if I don’t get to finish them before I bid them goodbye.

I’ll go straight to the point: Double Fudge is OK. Nothing special, nothing exciting, nothing amazing. However, I still gave it three out of five stars on Goodreads (it means “liked it”) because it has made me laugh several times through witty dialogue. I’ve read other Judy Blume books, Summer Sisters and Tiger Eyes (there are two more others, I think, but I don’t remember much about them), and found that Blume presents and develops character personalities through dialogue and not much through description. And I find that truly awesome because I think I rarely get to read anything like that. I think that if you take out most of the descriptions from Double Fudge and retain the dialogues, you’d still get the same funny story.

What I also loved about Double Fudge is that it’s a family story (and I’m a sucker for family stories) that most would probably relate to, and it’s a light read. I’ve finished it in just a few days, and I am a slow reader at that!

You may be wondering what “Fudge” means. Fudge is (SPOILER ALERT) one of the main characters. He is five years old and is obsessed with money. And I mean really obsessed. His obsession is something I don’t understand. I don’t think I knew anything about money when I was his age. But I’d love to have Fudge for a brother — it’ll be fun and a challenge to take care of him. As for the “Double” part, you have to read the book and find out for yourself.

If you want a really light read and if you want to laugh, then Double Fudge is for you!

Double Fudge by Judy Blume is the fifth of five books in the Fudge series and was published in 2002.

Leave a Reply

