Comic Books and Free Comic Book Day

The past few months, mother and I have been uncluttering, cleaning, and organizing our home and giving away stuff. We’ve found stacks of magazines, bags upon bags of newspaper clippings, a Harry Potter scrapbook mother made for me when I was in high school, embarrassing school test papers and assignments (both mine and my mother’s), a clipping about the inventor of the fountain pen (it’s Lewis E. Waterman in 1884 by the way), and my old comic books!! Now I’m not really an expert when it comes to comic books, but I enjoy reading the few that I have. I’ve only read a couple of Archie comic books, several Peanuts, and some of those for kids, like Casper, and I used to collect comic strips from the Sunday newspaper when I was little. Unfortunately, I’ve never read any Marvel.

I immediately read the whole thing when my mother found it. I was in grade V when I first read this. It says so on the first page. Aww, childhood memories.

I read the whole thing as soon as my mother found it a few days ago. I was in grade 5 when I first read this. It says so on the first page. And that’s my plump Tour Eiffel pillow in the background!

These are actually my mother's. But I've also read them when I was a kid. I loved and still love The Three Fairies, and I think The Pied Piper is a sad story.

These are actually my mother’s. But I’ve also read them when I was a kid. I loved and still love The Three Fairies, and I think The Pied Piper is a sad story.

Finding them was perfect timing actually because I’ve just found out recently that there is such a thing as Free Comic Book Day. And it’s held every first Saturday of May! On May 4, Fullybooked, Bonifacio High Street branch, will be giving away three comic books to every¬†visitor. And the best part? You don’t have to purchase anything! Also, there will be a 20% discount on all graphic novels.

Check out the poster here.

I have to get back to my cleaning.

Leave a Reply

