Ranger’s Apprentice: The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan

Photo credit: www.goodreads.com

The moment I started reading The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan, book one of the Ranger’s Apprentice series, it suddenly occurred to me how much I missed reading books of this kind and fangirling over a series. Reading this book has told me that this kind of story indeed is my favorite. And it’s been a while since I last fangirled over books. Lately, I’ve been trying to discover and read genres I’ve never tried before or genres I’m not really familiar with that I think it was total bliss when I’ve finally read my preferred one again.

The Ruins of Gorlan was lent to me by Nicole, who I’ve just recently learned has the same genre preference as mine. Yay! I have eleven more Ranger’s Apprentice books to borrow, just so ya know. 😉

Anyway, I still haven’t figured out why but I immensely enjoy books about young people who have the ability to defeat evil, or the all-powerful enemy, and save the world; books with creatures that do not exist and whose names I can’t even pronounce; books with unique character names; books with surprises, action, and adventure and with plenty of courageous characters; books with lots of journeying to unknown worlds; and books with epic battles. The Ruins of Gorlan has got all that. And that’s why I loved it so much.

The Ruins of Gorlan is one of the few books that I’ve given five out of five stars to and that earned a space in my Favorites shelf on Goodreads. So looking forward to reading the second book! (And, hopefully, there will be a movie version.)

The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan is the first of twelve books in the Ranger’s Apprentice series and was published in 2004.

One comment

Leave a Reply

