A Bookish Post

About a month ago, I made a vow never to buy books until I finish reading all those that I have at home. I buy books faster than I read them, and I feel bad seeing all those books that have been sitting on shelves and kept in closets for two or three years now, unread, unopened, and lonely. When I made an inventory of these books, I found out that I had to read ninety books before I buy something new! Ninety! Okay, the list includes a few e-books, re-reads (Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, and Twilight (yes, Twilight)), and borrowed books. But still it’s a long way to go, considering I’m such a slow reader. And you know what that means? That means I can’t buy The Ocean at the End of the Lane, The Casual Vacancy, and Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore any time soon! Now that’s a sad thought.

But the point of this bookish post really is to tell you about the 34th Manila International Book Fair which Jany and I went to a few days ago. It was fun to be surrounded by books and booklovers, and despite having visited this same fair two years ago, seeing hundreds of bookshops together in one huge place still amazed and thrilled me, and I felt like a kid in a candy store. (Not that I love candy, but you know what I mean.) It took all the discipline and self-control I had not to buy any books for myself.

Just kidding. Meet book number ninety-one. So much for discipline and self-control.

It’s not just books that excite me. I love authors too. They inspire me a lot. I love reading about how they get ideas for their stories, the process of how they write, how they overcome any writing obstacles. And for the first time in my life, at the fair, I’ve met an author! She talked to me and Jany about her book, how long she wrote it (nine years!), and a little bit of her life. And that’s not all: Number one, she’ll be giving me and Louise each a free copy of her book. And number two, I’m not sure if I want to share it here yet because I don’t really want to jinx anything, but here’s a hint: It’s about a new book she’s writing, and Jany and I will be keeping in touch with her.

Definitely.

7 comments

    1. Haha. Kaya ilang beses ko hinawakan, binitbit, at binalik sa shelf yung Harry Potter books na bago yung covers, kasi hindi ako makapagdecide! Haha. Pero di pa rin nakatiis, bumili pa din ako ng isang libro. Hehe.

    1. Good luck! I’ve tried to do it so many times before and I’m telling you, it’s difficult. I fail every time. But so far, since writing this blog post, I’m doing okay. But then it’s only been eight days. Haha!

  1. I tried doing that. But every time I go home and look at all the books I have, I remember how I don’t have enough books to make a library igloo.

    So I must buy. Definitely.

    :p

Leave a Reply

