Seriously … I’m Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres

I used to always watch The Ellen DeGeneres Show when I come home from work. But then they changed its time slot to an earlier one, so now I just watch whatever they show on their Youtube channel. (Thank you, inventor of Youtube!) But my work schedule will be changed anyway this October, and I’ll be arriving home earlier then, so who knows, I may be able to watch Ellen again on television (only I’d miss watching Chopped, Iron Chef America, Throwdown with Bobby Flay, and Bobby’s Dinner Battle; oh well, new work shifts have their pros and cons, and thankfully, there are more pros than cons on my new one — well, at least for me).

Anyway, I was in a bookstore one time and saw Seriously … I’m Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres. I knew I had to buy it because, aside from being a fan, I needed to laugh. I flipped the book over, started reading what’s written on the back cover, and found myself smiling like silly. If the synopsis (not to mention the book blurbs) made me smile like that, what more if I read the whole book? I took the book to the counter and payed for it, and forced myself to stop smiling before somebody thought I was a crazy person.

Really it was a good thing I’ve decided to read the whole book in my bedroom. Or else people would really think I needed help. I laughed like crazy! And it felt really good to laugh so much.

I think Ellen’s book is much like her shows. They both make people happy and at the same time they help and inspire people. Seriously¬†… I’m Kidding is witty, and Ellen talked about topics people would be able to relate to. I mean, I could definitely relate to the meditation part — I do open my eyes during meditation despite the instructor’s direction not to; I want to see if others already have theirs open. HA-HA. And I’m glad my birthday’s not in December and I don’t get to receive only one gift for birthday and Christmas. Ha! I also do not understand “not so deep thinkers.” (Ellen says they’re people who are “less aware of their impact on the planet,” “people who litter,” “people who go through life without ever thinking about their actions.”) If you read Ellen’s book, you’ll find ways on how to be a “deep thinker,” which I think everyone of us should be, or at least try to be.

I feel that this is one of those books that I’ll be reading again and again. It’s hilarious and at the same time it makes sense. It makes you laugh, and it makes you consider some things. And I adore Ellen because she wants to make the world a better place. I like people like that.

Aanywaaaay (a la Ellen).

Seriously … I’m Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres was published in 2011.

Leave a Reply

