Pandora the Curious by Joan Holub and Suzanne Williams

Pandora the Curious by Joan Holub and Suzanne Williams is book nine of the Goddess Girls series. I liked the first book a lot, and I wondered how the authors would make a retelling of Pandora’s story, plus make it child-friendly.

The only thing I remember about Pandora is that she was so curious she opened a box that she wasn’t supposed to and freed plagues in the process. Good thing my mother has Mythology by Edith Hamilton (which I am currently reading), but hers was published in 1969 and she had it since she was in college — required reading, I guess. I read the whole Pandora story and got even more excited about the Goddess Girls version.

I thought this story was awesome!! I even wish I could write something as good as this. Pandora did open a box and released trouble bubbles that made Athena ditzy, Artemis vain, and Zeus lazy. Then Epimetheus was there and had a crush on Pandora (little did they know that he and Pandora would have a daughter named Pyrrha in the future; ha! I learned that from Edith Hamilton’s book). And I wasn’t expecting the authors to include this, but Prometheus also stole fire from Zeus to give to men — just like in the original story! 

I’d love to watch a cartoon series version of this. I mean, the illustrations are so cute! And the stories are really nice! Also, according to Goodreads, there are fourteen books in the Goddess Girls series, two of which are yet to be published, Cassandra the Lucky (I’ve never heard of any Cassandra in Greek myth; I’m excited to get to know her!) and Athena the Proud. One of the fourteen is a stand-alone super special, The Girl Games. I wish there’d be more. I plan to read them all.

Pandora the Curious by Joan Holub and Suzanne Williams is the ninth book in the Goddess Girls series and was published in 2012.

Leave a Reply

