2013 End-of-Year Book Survey

best books 2013 end of year survey

I wanted so much to participate in this book survey, hosted by The Perpetual Page-Turner, last year. But the total number of books I’ve read in 2012 was *drumroll* twelve. And I didn’t want to answer the following questions with only a limited number of book choices. This year though, despite feeling slightly annoyed with myself for reading only fourteen books, I decided to finally participate because I can’t anymore wait for another year to do it. (At least it’s more than twelve.) So please forgive me for the repetition of answers. After all, there are twenty-seven questions and only fourteen available answers. I am also sorry to say that some of the questions won’t have any answers.

Best YA book 2013

1. Best book you read in 2013?

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (Oz #1) by L. Frank Baum (I loved that it wasn’t like the 1939 film — that it was more amazing, that it had more interesting characters and places, that Dorothy and her group had more adventures, and that the story had more depth. That doesn’t mean I do not like the movie version. I loved it too.)

2. Book you were excited about & thought you were going to love more but didn’t?

Spring into Style by Laurel Stowe Brady (Mary-Kate and Ashley Sweet 16 #14) (Thought I was going to enjoy it because I loved reading MK&A chapter books when I was a kid.)

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013?

4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

5. Best series you discovered in 2013?

Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanagan

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?

John Flanagan

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

They Do It with Mirrors (Miss Marple #6) by Agatha Christie

9. Book you read in 2013 that you are most likely to re-read next year?

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013?

Photo credit: www.goodreads.com

11. Most memorable character in 2013?

Isobel Martin of The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (I remember writing that Bailey is my favorite character in the book. But I feel Isobel is the most memorable because up to now, I still wonder what has happened to her after the book ended. I also keep thinking about her past. That woman is mysterious.)

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2013?

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013?

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read?

They Do It with Mirrors (Miss Marple #6) by Agatha Christie

15. Favorite passage/quote from a book you read in 2013?

From The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin:

I wanted to strengthen myself so I’d have the fortitude to face the worst, if (i.e., when) I had to.

I have this notebook where I write passages and quotes I like from books I’m reading. Looking at it now, I found that it has a lot of The Happiness Project stuff in it. It was difficult for me to choose just one, but I ended up with the one above because I think it sums up what I am trying to do now this 2014: I want to be prepared when that dreaded phone call (which I am hoping would never come) comes.

16. Shortest & longest book you read in 2013?

Shortest: The Resident Witch by Marian T. Place (Goodreads said the number of pages is unknown but marked it as the shortest book I’ve read. And I have no way of knowing since I’ve already given the book to someone else.)

Longest: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (387 pages)

17. Book that had a scene in it that had you reeling and dying to talk to somebody about? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.)

It was in the second to the last chapter, I think, of The Marvelous Land of Oz (Oz #2) by L. Frank Baum. (It was a WTF moment.)

18. Favorite relationship from a book you read in 2013? (be it romantic, friendship, etc.)

Halt and Will (mentor and apprentice) in the Ranger’s Apprentice series

19. Favorite book you read in 2013 from an author you’ve read previously?

20. Best book you read in 2013 that you read based SOLELY on a recommendation from somebody else?

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami (It was given to me as a gift, and I don’t really know if it’s considered a recommendation. But my friend likes reading Murakami’s books and she even told me she hoped I would like the book (which I did), so I’d like to think of it as a recommendation. Heh.)

21. Genre you read the most from in 2013?

Fantasy, of course!

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2013?

Gilan from The Burning Bridge (Ranger’s Apprentice #2) by John Flanagan (He was also in book one.)

23. Best 2013 debut you read?

24. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?

The Night Circus’s night circus was just wow!

25. Book that was the most fun to read in 2013?

Seriously … I’m Kidding by Ellen Degeneres (LOL’d a lot.)

26. Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2013?

The Burning Bridge (Ranger’s Apprentice #2) by John Flanagan (Becaaauuse I can’t believe John Flanagan had to do that in the end.)

27. Book you read in 2013 that you think got overlooked this year or when it came out?

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (People, I don’t hear ye talking about it a lot and I think you should!)

2014-books

1. One book you didn’t get to in 2013 but will be your number one priority in 2014?

Child Star: An Autobiography by Shirley Temple Black (Someone gave this to me. In 2009. And I feel so guilty for planning to read this every year but not actually doing it. Don’t get me wrong, I love Shirley Temple, the reason why it was given to me in the first place. But it’s just that I don’t think biographies and autobiographies are my thing (which is weird because one of my favorite books is The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank). This time, this year, Child Star will be my number one priority. Will start reading the book in a jiffy.)

2. Book you are most anticipating for 2014 (non-debut)?

Hollow City (Miss Peregrine #2) by Ransom Riggs (I haven’t even read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children yet! But after my friend Jany has told me a lot about it and how much she liked it and how excited she is for Hollow City to come out, I got excited as well! This, of course, means I have to catch up and read the first book.)

3. 2014 debut you are most anticipating?

4. Series ending you are most anticipating in 2014?

5. One thing you hope to accomplish or do in your reading/blogging in 2014?

I just hope I wouldn’t abandon this blog, like what I did with my past ones. Ha-ha. I wasn’t planning on abandoning my 2012 book blog, but something happened with all the links and the photos and I couldn’t figure out how to fix things and it only frustrated me so I had to leave it and create another one.

As with my reading, I just hope I’d learn how to read faster so I could read more books. Reading fourteen books or less this year is unacceptable!


This isn’t part of Jamie’s survey, but I hope it would be totally fine to add something to it.

Favorite First Line: The circus arrives without warning. (From The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern)

Favorite Title: The Night Circus

With that, I think The Night Circus is the overall winner. Ha-ha.

2 comments

  1. Hollow City! ❤ na-excite din tuloy ako! Sana meron na! Hihi. Ay, pero dapat mabasa mo muna yung first book! Dahil diyan… sabihin mo sakin kung kelan mo babasahin. 🙂 ay, wala na pala ko nakitang The Happiness Project sa NBS nung nagpunta ko kanina. 😦

    1. Jany, pang-Feb ko yung Pergrine’s! Kaya ireserve mo na para sakin! Hahaha. Nagpunta ka ba sa Fullybooked, Gateway? Meron don, ang dami kong nakitang kopya! Pati Why We Broke Up! Hehe. Pwede ko rin naman pahiram sayo yung The Happiness Project, sabihin mo lang. 🙂

Leave a Reply

