Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Coraline by Neil Gaiman was a fast and exciting read. I loved all the characters, even the ones I loved to hate! There’s a talking cat, a mysterious door that leads to an even more mysterious house, another mother and another father as well as another set of neighbors, children without souls, and many other things that are weird and wonderful at the same time. What I loved most of all is that the story is about bravery. Coraline said, “when you’re scared but you still do it anyway, that’s brave.” And how true that is. I was also even able to use a quote to, hopefully, encourage someone: “[N]obody is ever given more to shoulder than he or she can bear.” I hadn’t realized at the time that I was quoting Coraline. Ha!

So if you love children’s books, discovering new worlds, strange adventures, and enjoyable reads, then please do read Coraline!

On a somehow related note, I thought the cheese omelette that the other mother had cooked for Coraline’s breakfast was mouthwatering. That or I’m just always hungry. The recipe was written in detail so I couldn’t help but try cooking it myself. Heh.

My (real) father said it was more cheese than egg.

Eh, it’s probably not as pretty as the one described in the book, but it sure was delicious! (Forgive me for praising my own cooking (ha-ha); well, you probably can’t go wrong with eggs and lotsa cheese, even if you’re a non-cook like me.)

Read the whole book for the recipe. 🙂

Coraline by Neil Gaiman was published in 2002.

5 comments

  1. I love Coraline as well! Have you watched the movie? ^.^ Oh, and he’s also got another book… The Graveyard Book. Have you read it as well? I’m currently reading it 😀

    1. Hi! No, I haven’t yet! I want to! Will definitely look for a copy. I haven’t read The Graveyard Book, either! I read the back cover synopsis and liked it so it’s now one of my to-read books. I have a feeling I’m gonna love anything Neil Gaiman. Hope you are liking the book so far. 🙂

  2. Somewhere in the background, I could hear Durr saying “omelette DURR fromage” =))

    I loved Coraline too! I think it might be too scary for children if you think about what’s really happening in the book.haha

    1. Oh hi, Chef! Your comment made my omelette nervous. Haha.

      And I thought I’ve already forgotten about the wild swans! 😉

      I got scared reading the book, so I also thought it must be scarier for children! But then maybe I just get scared easily. Haha!

Leave a Reply

