Tahereh Mafi, Ransom Riggs & Veronica Rossi Book Signing Event

Last April 26, my friend Jany and I attended our first ever book signing event. Tahereh Mafi, Ransom Riggs, and Veronica Rossi came to see their fans here in the Philippines, although I admit Jany and I were there for Ransom Riggs. ❤

We arrived at around 2:00 p.m., and we were numbers 1,528 and 1,529. (I actually thought we weren’t going to make it in time.) The event started at around 3:00 p.m., and when the authors arrived, the crowd went wild it was crazy; it was deafening. Jany and I agreed it felt so good to be there. We were like, So this is how fangirling really feels like. It was definitely an awesome experience!

Feels good to know there are a lot of people you share the same interests with!

Tahereh, Ransom, and Veronica even took videos of us going crazy and taking pictures and videos of them. I automatically fell in love with all three of them. During that time, I decided I’d want to read Tahereh’s and Veronica’s books as well. (Okay, so I haven’t read any of Ransom’s books at that time, but I was already planning to, and now I have already finished the first Miss Peregrine’s. Review to follow.)

Feels good to know there are a lot of people you share the same interests with!

Here’s a photo of Ransom taking a photo of me.

Feels good to know there are a lot of people you share the same interests with!

Before the actual book signing started, there was an interview, and I swear I wanted so much to listen to everything they had to say, but sadly I could not hear them. I blame the crowd. All I heard were screams, and shouts of “Hi, Veronica!” (to which Veronica said hi back and waved (aww)), “Ransom, I’m peculiar!” and “Tahereh, I exist!” Good thing the crowd quieted down a bit when it came to the part where they talked about writing and shared writing tips. (Oh my gosh is all I could say.) I did enjoy observing the crowd though with their high stack of books (Jany and I just had one book each — we actually didn’t look like true-blue booklovers compared to them, ha-ha) and the way they couldn’t seem to contain themselves (ha!). And I have to admit, it feels nice to squeal every once in a while too. 😀

Feels good to know there are a lot of people you share the same interests with!

The first people to arrive (1:50 a.m. per my research (whaaaaaat)) were given a chance to hug and take pictures with all three authors. Lucky them!

Feels good to know there are a lot of people you share the same interests with!

I had to laugh when one of the girls near me shouted, “I was here yesterday!”

It was probably around 4:00 p.m. when the actual book signing started, and when they started calling numbers by twenty, Jany and I knew we were going to have to stay at the mall for a very long time. After eating pizza, going to several bookstores to check out the authors’ books and others we’d want to read, talking about life and books, walking around, and eating burgers, they finally called our numbers! Hurrah! It was almost time for the mall to close by then. For real! The wait wasn’t really exhausting because we enjoyed each other’s company. 🙂

Sadly, I wasn’t able to look at Ransom for even five seconds. Everything was a blur. All I remember was that I was in line, somebody said “Camera!” and I unthinkingly gave my camera away, somebody took the book I was going to have signed, and when I reached Ransom and before I could even say hi or smile at him or do something silly, somebody shouted “Picture!” (or was it “Smile”?) and so I turned and smiled for the camera. And I didn’t know how it happened but I ended up with both camera and book (now signed) in my hands as I walked away and got off the stage.

I understand all the hurry; after all, the authors need to rest as well. All in all, my first book signing experience was fun and awesome! Will definitely attend more book signing events and will definitely read Tahereh’s and Veronica’s books.

Here’s a list of their books as well as links to their websites.

Tahereh Mafi

Shatter Me series

Shatter Me

Unravel Me

Ignite Me

Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Hollow City

Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky trilogy

Under the Never Sky

Through the Ever Night

Into the Still Blue

And before I forget, here’s a recording of Tahereh pronouncing her name, in case you were also wondering how to say it.

Leave a Reply

