Ranger’s Apprentice: The Icebound Land by John Flanagan

SPOILERS AHEAD.

So far — and this is just the third book — this is the most distressing. I was extremely sad for Will and Evanlyn, for Will most especially, the whole time I read. I longed for the day when Will and his mentor Halt would see each other again. Will’s ranger skills training and practice with Halt in Araluen suddenly seemed so long ago. I yearned for those days. Can’t it be like that all the time? It’s difficult to imagine that things would go back to the way they used to be. With the situation Will and Evanlyn were in, being prisoners in a foreign land and all, it was easier to think that the good days are gone forever. Halt and Will being separated for a long time was definitely saddening. A book without the senior ranger and his apprentice together felt unusual. And there were Will and Evanlyn’s hardships and trials too. When the book was almost about to end, with only a few pages left, and Will still hasn’t recovered from his druggy state, and I was dying for him to recover, in my mind I was constantly like, Oh, no, Mr. John Flanagan, you wouldn’t. You would not end the book without at least letting Will heal. It’s bad enough that he wouldn’t reunite with Halt! Thankfully, at the very end, when I thought all hope was lost, he did recover. I didn’t need to be so upset and throw the book across the room. (No, don’t worry, I wouldn’t do that whatever the ending; the book’s not mine to throw.) In spite of everything, I did like The Icebound Land by John Flanagan, no matter how heartbreaking it was.

Oh, and I really, really, really, really hope Will and Evanlyn would end up together.

The Icebound Land by John Flanagan is the third of twelve books in the Ranger’s Apprentice series and was published in 2007.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

