Ranger’s Apprentice: The Battle for Skandia by John Flanagan

If I found book three the most distressing, The Battle for Skandia by John Flanagan, the fourth installment, is the most swashbuckling. Yep, first word that came to mind. It is difficult to say more as I don’t want to spoil anything. If a book is that good, I always don’t want to give out any spoilers. But believe me when I say the series keep getting better and better and that this is the book with the most action, an edge-of-your-seat kind of tale. Makes me want to resurrect my past dream of becoming a multilingual sword-fighting bow-and-arrow-shooting multiple-instrument-playing crime-fighting ass-kicking wilderness-survival-skills-possessing master-of-many-weapons warrior princess spy. With purple hair. It also makes me want to learn how to cook good stew.

In other news, I still want Will and Evanlyn to end up together.

Quotes I’ve liked and took note of (very helpful too):

“Men work better when they know what you have in mind,” he told the young apprentice. “So make sure you tell them as much as possible.”

“Problems postponed have a habit of solving themselves, more often than not,” Halt told her, putting an arm around her slim shoulders.

“A good leader is someone who knows what he’s bad at, and hires someone who’s good at it to take care of it for him.”

I wish I’ve read this: aboard a ship, with good stew.

The Battle for Skandia by John Flanagan is the fourth of twelve books in the Ranger’s Apprentice series and was published in 2008.

Leave a Reply

