Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

Alice in Wonderland was one of my favorite stories growing up. I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve watched the Disney animated version as well as the live-action film directed by Tim Burton. In fact, most of my favorite lines come from the animated movie. I will recite one now: “If I had a world of my own, everything would be nonsense. Nothing would be what it is, because everything would be what it isn’t. And contrary-wise, what is, it wouldn’t be, and what it wouldn’t be, it would, you see?” Perhaps the reason why I love this story is that I absolutely think nonsense is what this world is short of. Uh-huh. I turn to Alice in Wonderland when everybody I talk to is making too much sense.

That’s why I could not believe myself when I found most of the book boring. I wanted so much to love Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. Not like, but LOVE. I wanted it to be something I would talk excitedly about with someone. I wanted it to be something I would urge somebody to read. I wanted it to become my next favorite. Unfortunately, the reading experience wasn’t what I had hoped or expected. Wonderland wasn’t a fascinating place to stay in. And I thought my heart was always easily captivated. Am I turning into a boring adult?? I blame it all on the recent conversations I’ve had about bills and taxes.

However, I still had fun finding quotes from the book that were used in the movie versions. I found Alice’s “cherry-tart, custard, pineapple, roast turkey,” “Curiouser and curiouser!” and “how doth the little crocodile”; the Mad Hatter’s “Why is a raven like a writing desk?”; and words that begin with an “M” like “muchness.” It was like some sort of quest. A quest for movie lines. And I’m happy that there was a lot.

And I do have some favorites:

Characters: Alice and the Hatter

Chapter: A Mad Tea-Party (My head hurt from all the madness!)

Quotes (aside from those mentioned above):

“I wonder if I’ve been changed in the night? Let me think: Was I the same when I got up this morning?”

***

“If everybody minded their own business,” the Duchess said, in a hoarse growl, “the world would go round a deal faster than it does.”

***

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”

“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,” said the Cat.

“I don’t much care where–” said Alice.

“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,” said the Cat.

***

“We’re all mad here.”

***

“How do you know I’m mad?” said Alice.

“You must be,” said the Cat, “or you wouldn’t have come here.”

***

“[B]ut it’s no use going back to yesterday, because I was a different person then.”

In the end, I have decided that I still love the story even if I am more charmed by the movie versions than by Lewis Carroll’s original story. Not something I would reread but definitely something I would watch a million times more.

I wish I’ve read this: with lots and lots of tea (and probably some fancy cookies and small cakes).

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll is the first of two books in the Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland series and was published in 1865.

Leave a Reply

