Seconds Before Sunrise by Shannon A. Thompson

sbs

Seconds Before Sunrise by Shannon A. Thompson is the second book of The Timely Death Trilogy AND the latest book I’ve given five out of five stars to and added to my Favorites shelf on Goodreads. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. It is very compelling and exciting, and I haven’t moved on from the book; I’m still fangirling. Seriously. I can’t stop thinking about it. I’m glad there’s a new series I’m going to fangirl about. It has been a while.

However, I was a little lonely in the beginning of the book because the ending of the first book, Minutes Before Sunset, was heartbreaking. (Spoiler starts now.) I felt sad for Eric and Jessica because they weren’t together, and I wanted them to be. The whole time I was reading Seconds Before Sunrise I was hoping for Jessica’s memory to return already. And as for Eric — who is *sigh* my newest fictional crush — it seems that the more I read about him, the more I fall in love with him. I’m glad to learn that he’s (finally) concerned about his family. And, of course, I’m glad that he has never stopped caring about Jessica and that he can’t keep his distance from her, even though he knows he should. Hee. The book was very difficult to put down as well because you just have to know what happens next. There’s magic, a lot of twists, and an epic (Dark vs. Light) battle in the end, which is one of my favorite parts! And the description of the Light during the battle freaked me out! The Light is also one of the things that for me has made the book really exciting. That and the thought of characters living double lives — 1) as humans and 2) as Shades or Lights. The story was like a puzzle. I kept wondering and guessing which among the human characters were Lights (and Shades), and I think there was a time when I have accused most of the humans in the book as Lights. The thought of not knowing whom to trust is alarming! I can’t wait to learn who everyone is in the third book. In Seconds Before Sunrise, I have also learned to love the characters I haven’t gotten to know very well and didn’t really care about that much in Minutes Before Sunset, like Mindy, Noah, and Crystal.

I think it’s pretty obvious that I totally recommend this book. It is well written and the excitement never stopped. This is the kind of book that makes you want more even after you’ve finished it. In the middle of reading, I even took time to check out each and every picture on the author’s Timely Death Trilogy board on Pinterest to help with my imagination (ha!). It is the perfect sequel to Minutes Before Sunset.

I’d also like to say I love the cover because, well, Eric. I guess I’ve found a new book boyfriend.

I wish I’ve read this book: in a bookish sleepover party together with TTDT fans so we could fangirl together after the read!

membersbs

I’d like to thank Shannon A . Thompson for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I truly admire your work!

Seconds Before Sunrise, the second book in the Timely Death Trilogy, by Shannon A. Thompson was first published in 2014 but will re-release on August 25, 2015.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

