A Bookish Birthday Celebration

Yesterday, my friend Jing and I celebrated our birthdays in a bookish kind of way. We first had lunch at Silantro, a Fil-Mex restaurant, where they serve delicious beef nachos and quesadillas. We highly recommend it!

beefnachos quesadilla

One of the many, many things we talked about was our dream jobs, which we are currently working on and which, amazingly, are very similar! I now find it more exciting to pursue that dream because a close friend would be doing almost the same things as me. Mine is book related, hers is not, but I promise, they’re very similar! We have to learn the same things and do the same things in order for us to achieve our goals.

We spent most of the day in two different bookstores, where we played the First Sentence Challenge! If you don’t know how that game is played, click here and here. I’ll try to tell you how it’s done, if you don’t feel like clicking on the links, but I’m warning you, I’m not really good at explaining things. It’s a game where one person is blindfolded and the other person grabs a book the blindfolded person has read from the bookshelf and reads aloud the first sentence. The blindfolded person then tries to guess what that book is. Of course, since we were in a bookstore and not in one of our homes, we just walked around, looking for a book the other person (hopefully) has read. We read the first sentence behind the other since, obviously, we couldn’t blindfold each other in public. Jing was able to guess what I’ve picked (The Mortal Instruments: City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare). (I have yet to read that series!) I wasn’t able to guess the book she’s picked for me (Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler), although it was a book I haven’t read yet! Ha-ha! We only did one each because most of the books in the bookstore were covered in plastic, and we weren’t entirely sure of which books the other has read.

We also bought one pack of bookmarks each, and we traded! She gave me this:

yellow

And I gave her one of these:

bookmarks

I’ve just recently (meaning three days ago) started a bookmark collection, and as of now, I already have ten. I’d probably do a separate post about my new collection!

She also gave me her Christmas gift, and I love it so much because it’s Harry Potter related! LOOK!

snitch

My mom thought it was an owl though. I said owls don’t look like that. Ha-ha.

Before heading home, we had gelato at Gelatissimo, which we also highly recommend! I had white chocolate and she had choc mint.

gelato

I loved how we celebrated our birthdays. I had so much fun!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

